top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturedebiandrea743

On My Bookshelf, Part 3


Welcome to my bookshelf! Over the past seven years, I have collected books and have managed to build a library of over half a thousand books. And it's still growing.


My list of favorite books is almost as extensive as my library. To collect my thoughts, I decided to open my heart to y'all and share a list of over fifty of what I consider to be some of the best novels and series.


Let's get started on today's list!


The Daystar Voyages by Gilbert Morris


After getting kicked out of the Academy, Jerusha is greeted by a mysterious man at her doorstep. He calls himself Captain Edge and says that he needs her help for a mission on his ship, the Daystar.


Thinking on it, she finally agrees and rounds up her friends to be the Daystar crew. Now, they must travel to planet Makon to assist the captain on his greedy quest.


But he never finishes what he sets out to do. In fact, it takes a whole ten books to just get close. Through these voyages, the crew of the Daystar goes on adventure after adventure. Bonding through this series, the young people depended on God for protection and served as a witness.


I still can't believe my luck with this series. My dad's sister and her family were going to move to Uganda, Africa, so they practically got rid of everything they wouldn't need. This included this ten-book series which I got for two dollars. When I picked up the first book, I could not stop.


I would recommend this book series to any sci-fi fan of any age. The books are clean of any language or anything else you might be worried about. They'll make you sit at the edge of your seat and laugh right out loud.


The Visitation by Frank Peretti


Travis Jordan had been sitting at home for who-knows-how-long. Life hadn't been kind to him, so now he just ignored it. He used to be the pastor of the Pentecostal church in Antioch. Travis had watched it grow, but then his wife died.


That changed everything.


But then someone entered his life that he did not expect—a young man called Brandon Nichols who claimed to be the Messiah.


Before Travis knew what was happening, he revisited old memories while trying to expose the antichrist for who he really was.


I've read this book twice. Once over four months, and another time over four days. Upon reading it the second time, I was still finding new details, more hidden points.


I cannot praise this book enough. Peretti really grabs your attention and holds it for the entire novel. When you start this book, you have to read it to the very end.


I would recommend that every Christian read this book at some point in their life. There are important points made on the antichrist that every Christian should know. Not only that, but Peretti reminds you that God is there throughout your whole life, knowing what the entire story is.


Anne of Green Gables by L. M. Montgomery


The first thought that entered Marilla's head when she saw Anne was, "Where is the boy?" The Cuthbert's asked for a boy from the orphanage, and now they had a scrawny girl on their hands.


But after a minute of knowing Anne Shirley, you know she isn't like any other girl you've met. First thing, she has a red-hot temper to match her hair. Next, her vocabulary is quite colorful.


But Anne can grow on you quickly. That's why Marilla and Matthew, brother and sister, have a hard time deciding if they're going to send Anne back to the orphanage or not.


I have read this book twice and seen the fantastic film (starring Megan Follows) countless times. This story holds a special place in my heart. Growing up as a PK, I always felt like a misfit. I was the only girl in my youth group who liked to read. Not only that, but I was the only one who enjoyed school.


I wasn't like most of the girls. I had "so much scope for the imagination." When I read this novel, I wanted to be like Anne. (According to my mom, I already was because of the temper that always ended me up in trouble.)


It taught me that I should feel no shame or embarrassment in being different from others but should take joy in it.


Bailey Flanigan Series by Karen Kingsbury


Bailey is leaving home and pursuing her dreams of becoming an actress on Broadway. She's already starred in a movie with heartthrob actor Brandon Paul, but her heart has always been on Broadway and Cody.


But things don't work out with Cody Coleman because he's so stuck on his past and believing he can never redeem himself. Not only that, but he believes that he can never deserve someone as perfect as Bailey.


Slowly, Bailey is forced to make countless choices that come with becoming an adult and moving away from family.


And that's why I like this series so much. We all had that moment where we moved away from home, and we had to begin making decisions on our own. I haven't gotten there yet, but I'm getting close.


There is so much to learn from Bailey. Yes, she makes mistakes, but she ultimately discovers that it is important to follow God's leading in her life.


This Present Darkness by Frank E. Peretti


Things are getting darker in the little city of Ashton. Nobody else seems to notice the problem except for the small church pastor and the small newspaper owner.


Marshall's daughter is attending college and is getting into some weird things. He is worried about his little girl, so he starts sniffing around to find what he thinks will be a good story in his paper. But he finds that he has scratched the surface of something much more dangerous and more significant than anyone anticipated.


Meanwhile, Hank is on his knees, fighting in prayer. He knows if there is to be a victory in his town, the only way to get there will be through going to God. He knows the battle is not against flesh and blood but against a higher power.


I've been through this book twice, and each time it gives me the chills. It made me realize the importance of prayer. When we pray, we are going into a battle.


Five Little Peppers and How They Grow by Margaret Sidney


Polly and Ben Pepper don't have enough money to get their Mamsie a present; they have a million ideas but no money. It has been this way since their father died.


Being the oldest, Ben and Polly do their best to provide for the family, but there is only so much that they can do. Though they have never celebrated Christmas because of their poverty, there are still many smiles and lots of laughter.


Then a young boy called Jasper King enters their lives, changing the world they know.


I was enthralled with this book when I read it. I admired how all five little Peppers remained happy through everything, good and bad. It reminded me how I should always be joyous through the not-so-good situations.


The Giver by Lois Lowry


Jonas is now twelve. What does this mean for him? It means his life is about to change. He is now going to be assigned a career by the elders.


And he receives the strangest of all the careers. He has been assigned to become the giver.


There is only one giver. He holds all the memories of the world. All the memories of pain and pleasures. He holds these memories, so many people in the communities will not have to deal with the horrors of war or sadness.


This is done to maintain perfection.


But to maintain perfection, a price must be paid. And that price is very high.


This is like our world today. Countless actions are taken to create a perfect world. But the same people who want to build unity in our world also promote awful things like abortion. In the end, this will not lead to perfection.


Emma by Jane Austen


Emma is a busybody. No question about it. She is always in everyone else's business but her own. Especially when it comes to romance.


So when Emma meets young Harriet, she decides she will pair her off with the parson. But then all is turned to chaos. It turns out the parson is into Emma, not Harriet.


But Emma does not give up. She tries again and again and again. Until Harriet's heart has been broken.


Some authors wonder if they should make the main character annoying. Austen had no question about it… She made Emma as exasperating as possible. If it ended there, this book would not be on this list.


But Emma changes. She realizes her ways are not the best. The young woman notices how each of her actions is led by selfishness. Ultimately, she recognizes how she has been hurting others by her actions.


We should all be more like Emma. No, we shouldn't be trying to be a cupid. But we should admit when we were wrong.


The Cooper Kids Adventure Series by Frank Peretti


This series follows Jay and Lila Cooper through the most dangerous of quests. They follow their father everywhere to explore strange happenings. And there seems to be a lot of those.


From the mysterious cavern that kills anybody that enters it to the cockpit of a falling plane, the Cooper kids are there, asking God to be with them and protect them.


I started this series when I was eleven, and I will never forget it. But not for the reason you think. I'll always remember it because it gave me nightmares. I found it horrifying.


But since this series is for kids, it's not as scary as some of Peretti's other books. In fact, they would be considered mild compared to those!


If you are a Peretti fan, this is a must-read! This series is not only for kids but for all of us. Each book contains a lesson that we should hold dear to our hearts.


The Seven Sleepers Series by Gilbert L. Morris


Josh is a normal boy, but that doesn't change the fact that his whole world is changing. Oh, it's not changing in a way that can all be mended. You see, our world has entered a nuclear war.


And he is one of the few survivors. To make sure his son would live, Josh's father placed his boy in a sleeping capsule where he dozed for 50 years. Then, he was awoken.


When he is released, he finds that everything is not as it once was. There are Gemini twins, giants, and snakepeople. But there are also six others like Josh, and he must find them.


After he finds them, they must do their best to serve Goel and bring the world back to order.


Honestly, I haven't read this entire series, but I have read most of it. Like the last series I wrote about, each book contains an important moral lesson that a reader should take away and store up.


None of the seven sleepers are perfect, but they learn along the way how to deal with each other's imperfections in a kind and forgiving light.

 

That's a wrap, folks. I have decided to open my heart to you in a personal way by showing you my bookshelf. Now, it's your turn!


Comment below and tell me if you have ever read any of the above books! If so, which ones did you like or dislike? Are some of these on your list of favorite books? If you haven't read any on the list, which sounds most interesting to you?

52 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page