top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturedebiandrea743

Depart

Updated: Oct 15, 2020


Y'all know that I greatly enjoy writing. Not only do I enjoy writing posts for my blog, but I also love to write short stories and novels. Occasionally, I may post some of these or a snippet from a book I'm working on. One day, God willing, I hope to impact the world with my writing! Below is a short story I wrote for school - it was one of those few writing assignments I actually enjoyed working on! Hope you enjoy!


Some would not make it. He would. Edmund Stocks knew that, but others would be left to die in the foreign French land. Silently, Edmund cursed Hitler and the German army. Hating them with every breath he had, the soldier abhorred them more with the knowledge that some of his fellow men would be left behind to be killed.

A quiet voice said, "You shouldn’t say that."

"Who said that?" questioned Edmund. Deep in thought, he had not noticed that another sat next to himself.

"Just a fellow soldier longing to go home."

"Are you waiting for the last boat?"

Silence ensued. "I'm one of the few who won't make it."

Edmund fought back tears. Enemy soldiers weren't the only things he had to wrestle. "I'm sorry."

"It's fine. I know where I'm going, but I wish that I could leave someone to watch over my children and wife." The man began to sob.

Edmund patted the man's shoulder. "Hold up, soldier. What's your name?"

"Frank Darcy, sir."

"No need for formalities, Darcy; call me Edmund."

"Yes, Edmund. You can call me Frank. It would be nice to have a friend in my last few hours."

Once again, Edmund cursed Hitler and the German army.

"Please, Edmund, don't say that. The good Lord wants us to forgive our enemies."

"The good Lord?" Edmund let out an angry chuckle. "How can you call someone good who puts you in a mess like this one? Especially you, who won’t make it back."

"I can call him good because he has already saved me."

Edmund looked around at his conditions. "Yes. Sure looks like he saved you. Frank, I don't know if you've noticed, but we're living in squalor."

"I don't mean that he has saved me from the war. I mean that he has saved me from Hell."

"Fairytales. Nothing but fairytales. Do you believe in that place? Don't tell me next that you're going to Heaven, then tell me that I can go too. God would never accept me. What's your wife's name?" asked Edmund, wanting to change the subject.

"Margaret."

"Pretty?"

"The fairest woman you've ever set eyes on!"

"How many kids?"

"Three. A girl and two boys."

Edmund smiled. "Must be hard on the girl."

"She has her mother to help her whenever the lads get rowdy."

"What are their names and ages?"

"Susan is 8, and John and Andrew are 5."

"Twins?"

"More alike than any twins in England."

"Do you ever play with them?"

"Yes. They are the joy of my life. I play with them whenever Susan is not having a tea party."

"Frank?"

"Yes, Edmund?"

"Tell me. Can I get to Heaven?" Edmund had been thinking about the former conversation of Heaven and Hell. Though he had acted uninterested, he very much wished to know more about it.

"Yes, you can."

"How? I've done all wrong and no right! I ran away from home when I was sixteen because my father beat my mother and me when he was drunk. I left my mother to him. When dad figured out I was gone, he beat mum so hard that she died. I fell to the drink; then I joined the war. I hate the Germans more than you know and would kill one if he came within five feet of me. How can I possibly go to Heaven?"

"Repent and believe. That's all there is to it. Just tell Jesus you're sorry, then never go back to your old ways."

Once again, there was silence. "You know," Frank said, "Jesus was tempted to hate his enemies. He was hung on the cross and mocked by the Romans, but he told God, 'Father, forgive them.' "

"Really? How could he do that? How can I forgive someone that I hate so much?"

"When you repent and ask Jesus to live in your heart, he fills you with a love so strong that you cannot hate your enemies anymore."

"I do feel terrible about all those things I told you about."

"Then repent and ask Jesus into your life."

Edmund smiled through his tears. "Did anyone tell you that you would make a brilliant preacher?"

Frank paused. "That's what I had planned on becoming when I got back home."

A sudden yell filled the air. The yell to depart. The yell to leave behind a fellow soldier once befriended and now never to be seen again. The yell that would bring about the death of a soldier and the renewal of another.

"Go," Edmund told Frank.

"What do you mean?" Frank responded, incredulous.

"I mean go back to your beautiful wife. Go back to your kids. Go back and tell others what you told me."

"I can't do that!"

"Why not? I'm telling you to go, so go!"

"But that would mean your death!"

"I know, but I have nothing to go back to. You have a family. I don't."

"But you aren't...."

"Don't worry. I'll be seeing you again."

The yell was sounded again.

"Go, Frank, and don't waste any more thoughts on me."

"It wouldn't be wasting them. I'll be telling my kids and wife about you."

"I’d like that. Now go. They won't wait much longer."

Edmund heard Frank walk toward the shore. When he knew the boat had glided safely away back to England, Edmund kneeled upon the shore and prayed, "Jesus, forgive me. I know I've done wrong. Please come into my heart the last few hours of my life." Suddenly, all the hate he knew for the Germans and Hitler was gone.

Edmund turned toward the shore and thought of Frank's reunion with his family. He could see John and Andrew jumping up and down with joy, and Susan racing into her father's arms. He could also imagine Margaret embrace and kiss her husband.

Depart, depart and leave me here,

Leave me to my joyous fate.

There is no longer any need to fear,

For I shall enter Heaven's gate!






51 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page