top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturedebiandrea743

Writing from the Heart


As a young child, I enjoyed reading. Fiction was the best. Stories about knights in shining armor or fire-breathing dragons were my ultimate favorites. Sitting at the edge of my seat, holding my breath, I drunk from novels about pillaging pirates or vicarious Vikings.


One day, I took a breather from all the fantasy and picked up Louisa May Alcott's Little Women. Rather than being a novel full of fantasy, the book shows the lives of four sisters, Meg, Jo, Beth, and Amy. Sad and down-to-earth, the story presents how each sister pulled themselves through life.


Although all four sisters are inspirational, Jo's character is the most powerful. She comes alive with each page I turn. Fascinating me, she makes it through life with her headstrong will and determination. Her dream of becoming a famous author attracts my attention; I want her love of writing to become my own. Jo, the main character of Little Women, inspires me to write the right way and enjoy it.


First, Jo inspires me by waking my dream to become an author. When Jo finally wrote a book on her and her sisters' lives, it became a bestseller. That's what I want to do. I long to write and write and write and write until I reach the top of the charts. Not because I want fame but because I want others to hear what I have to say.


Next, Jo inspires me to allow others to criticize my work. When Jo writes short stories for a newspaper, Frederick, a professor, politely tells her that she could do much better. At first, Jo storms off, angry that he would dare condemn her work, but the young woman quickly realizes that he stood in the right. Following his advice, she writes a beautiful book that describes Jo and her sisters' sad yet charming life. This motivates me to allow others to critique my work. Although I don't always like it, I try to follow the advice given to me and usually find that my writing is better.


Finally, Jo inspires me to work hard at my writing and not give up. When Jo fails as an author in New York, she goes back home but doesn't quit, even after her favorite sister dies. Instead, she uses her troubles as motivation. A lot of times, I hit a rough spot in my life. Someone might say something that stings, or a friendship might seem at an end. Just like Jo, I feel that writing about it helps me through my problems. Also, as I continue in my schooling, writing essays gets harder to enjoy. Still, whenever I'm at what I think is the endpoint of my ability, I think of Jo, who got up after each mental blow and wrote with all her might.


Fantasy stories always thrill me. Making me smile, these fairy tales push me to the edge of my seat and always hold my attention with a firm grip. But it was a novel with little adventure that inspires me to write to the best of my ability. Because of Jo, the main character from Little Women, I strive to write in the best way possible and take pleasure in it. From the moment I read that small, simple novel, I decided to take my writing all the way. I chose to write from the heart.


31 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page