top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturedebiandrea743

Journey to the Celestial Gate, Chapter 1


I am happy to show y'all the first chapter of my book, Journey to the Celestial Gate. This novel is a work in progress, but I will continue to print a chapter whenever one is completed. Enjoy!


Name meanings:

Drystan – full of sorrow

Abaddon – Satan

Ares – ruin

Alyse – truthful

Leien – lie

Sephtis – eternal death

Joshua – God is salvation

Soteria – salvation

Bibleja - Bible

Bara – free

Ean – Yahweh is gracious

Jillian – child of God

Amia – beloved


Chapter 1

The Beginning: Salvation

I must leave this place, Drystan determined. Or forever, I shall be under the terrible reign of King Abaddon.


Drystan pinned up her hair tightly and dressed in her traveling garb. Quickly, she packed her bag full of equipment for her journey. I’ll need some jealousy and anger. Also, I cannot forget lust, she reminded herself.


Before she stepped out of the wooden door, Drystan glanced at herself in the mirror.


With a flick of her wrist, she wiped a tear from her cheek. Stepping to the door, she hesitated as her hand sat on the knob. Maybe I don’t have to leave, Drystan thought. Maybe the weight of the king’s terror will lessen.


It dawned on her she had no choice but to leave. If Drystan stayed, she realized she would forever be subject to King Abaddon. Without giving it another moment, Drystan twisted the knob and took the first step of her great and incredible journey.


***


“Two paths. Which should I take?” Drystan mumbled.


Indeed, before her lay two paths - one shrouded in light, while the other sat in darkness. The name of the first was Alyse; the second – Leien.


Drystan tried to see down Leien Path but could see nothing but darkness. I guess I shall try this path first, she thought. It feels and appears familiar. If it is not what I seek, then I shall return here and go down Alyse Path.


And so she wandered down the gloomy road, hoping somehow that it would make her traveling pack lighter. Drystan groped about in the darkness until she reached a point in the trail, which split into many directions.

Many of the new paths had their own names. “How do I know which one to take?” Drystan agonized.


Since the trail “Buddha” appeared calm and peaceful, Drystan tried it first. Along the way, there were people in chains kneeling before a statue and paying her no attention. Merely, they babbled and wailed foolish and hopeless prayers to their idol. Once Drystan saw this horrible sight and heard the overwhelming sound, she ran back up the path.


Next, Drystan tried “You First Lane,” for it appeared thrilling. Towards the beginning, there was a carnival where beautiful people frolicked and danced. Smiling, Drystan thought, I have found my happy place. But that thought came to an end further down the path. The carnival turned into a swamp where people had turned into ugly, groveling creatures. Now, they were talking to themselves and made frightful noises. Once the young woman saw this ghastly view, she turned and dashed away to the trailhead.


Breathing heavily, Drystan questioned if she ought to return after the escapade. No, I must try every path to make sure I’m not missing anything, she thought.


Her next choice was “Hollywood.” Carefully, she traveled down this road; then she sped up when the trail appeared promising. Stages sprung up, on which people sang lovely songs and performed worthy plays. But this didn’t hold for long—the plays filled with coarse language and violence ugly for the eye to behold. The songs became rants. As quickly as she could, Drystan returned the way she came. This is no different from the place I left, she considered.


Wondering if she ought to go back to the original split of trails, Drystan decided to try only one more path, and if it was worse than anything she had seen, she would return. The final path she chose was “Islam.”


Quickly, she realized her mistake in going down this path. There, she saw things she knew she could never unsee. Men and women, clothed from head to foot, jumped off buildings screaming out the name of their god. Suddenly, a bomb came down towards Drystan – she barely moved out of the way. Drystan turned to run up the path but was caught in a bought of gunfire. Falling to the ground to escape being hit by a bullet, she pulled herself along the ground until she reached the trailhead.


“I guess this is where I admit the other path would be the better choice,” Drystan panted. My pack is not getting lighter.


So, she headed back down the dark way, back to where the main road split. There, Drystan found the other path's name had changed from “Alyse” to “One Way.”


“That sounds better. I won’t have to worry about which path to take,” Drystan mused. Quickly, she headed down the trail.


As she journeyed, Drystan’s memory faded back to her old kingdom.


***


The Kingdom of Ares was a wicked place, seen differently by different people. Some viewed the realm as the best place ever to be. Others were miserable to live there.


The Kingdom was ruled by one named Abaddon. Everything he did was done for himself. He hated light and loved darkness. Everyone underneath him feared his name.


Glamorous to some, parties were held every night. In them, Evil was drunk, and Sin was feasted upon. The most delectable dishes were lies, adultery, hate, pride, thievery, and more.


To others, the glamour remained but for a while. After their first feast, they decided they must leave, for they were sick to their stomachs. Drystan was among them. Many of her friends chose to forsake what they had known their whole lives and disappeared overnight.


She knew not where she was going or where her friends had gone, but she tried to seek something far better than what she had.


All at once, Drystan lost her footing and began to fall over a chasm! Adrenaline pumping, she grasped at a branch which jutted out of the side and held on for dear life.


“Someone help!” she screamed over and over again.


When she felt she could not hold out any longer, a head peeked over the edge. “Drystan!” the man called out.


“Help me!”


“Do you believe I can help you?” the man questioned, reaching out his hand.


“Yes!”


“Then let go of the branch, grab my hand, take off your pack, and drop it into the edge.”


“But I need the things within.”


“Which do you value more? The Sin within your pack, or your life?”


Quickly, Drystan released the branch and reached for the stranger’s hand. The touch of the man’s hand gave her strength that she could not explain – enough strength to throw her pack over the edge. With a strong grasp, he pulled her upward to safety.


Gasping, Drystan thanked the man and asked, “What’s your name?”


“My name is Joshua. It seems I came along just in time.”


Drystan nodded. “Would you know the way across this great chasm? I see the other side of it but fear I do not know the way.”


Joshua chuckled. “Indeed, I do. I made the only bridge that crosses over Sephtis Canyon.”


Drystan’s eyes glinted with hope. “Please, sir, would you show me the way?”


Gently taking hold of Drystan’s hand, he led her to a bridge in the shape of a cross. “This is Soteria Bridge. The only crossing to the other side.”


“Thank you, kind sir,” Drystan hurriedly exclaimed as she stepped onto the bridge, but the man grabbed her shoulders and shook his head.


“No! You may only cross with me. Do you trust that I alone may help you cross this bridge?”


Studying his eyes, Drystan felt something that she had never before felt in her life: peace.


“Yes, I trust you. With everything within me, I trust you.”


Joshua’s large smile crinkled his eyes. “Good. Let’s go.”


Carefully, Joshua led Drystan across the vast bridge to the other side.


Once across, Joshua turned to Drystan and hugged her. “Your name is no longer Drystan, but Delight, for I shall fill you with happiness, and you have become my joy. No longer are you under the reign of King Abaddon, but you are now my subject.”


Tears of bliss streamed down the cheeks of Delight. “Thank you, my King.”


Joshua released Delight and took held her shoulders. “Now, my loyal subject, you must embark on a dangerous journey for your King.”


“Anything for his Majesty.”


“But you shall not be alone. You shall have other subjects with you, but ultimately, I will be with you, even to the ends of the Age. Let me prepare you now for your journey.”


Directing Delight to a circle of trees, Joshua breathed in and closed His eyes. Several things began to appear. A belt formed around her waist, and a sword filled the hilt. A necklace wrapped around her neck. A satchel placed itself over her shoulder.


“My King, what are these things, and what are they for?”


“These things will aid you on your journey. The sword is the mighty sword Bibleja which shall aid you if ever you meet with the foe.”


“Who is the foe?”


“You shall know when you see him. Next, the satchel. It is filled with things that shall aid you on your journey. Among those things, there is a vial full of Living Water that never runs dry, a map capable of helping you find your way at any time, and bread that never runs out.


“Finally, the necklace shows that you are now my subject. Should your old king ever run into you, then he shall know you are now mine. If ever you come across the foe, hold out your necklace utter these words: I am His, and He is mine. Not always will these words assist you, for you must also learn to fight for my Name .”


“Thank you, my King, for being so gracious.”


“I must leave you now, but remember I will always be with you.”


“Wait! Where shall I go?”


Joshua chuckled. “Why don’t you try looking at the map?” With that, he disappeared into the shadow of trees.


Delight couldn’t help but laugh. Her heart was filled with a joy she had never known.


Lifting the flap of her satchel, Delight carefully pulled out the map. It’s blank¸ Drystan thought, disappointed. Suddenly, words began to form. Once finished, the map read, “Two are better than one.”


“Hullo there!” A voice called out suddenly. “Who are you?”


Delight pulled out her sword, turned, and pointed her weapon at a group of four youth her age.


“Whose subject are you?”


“King Joshua, of course!” said one of the boys holding up his necklace. “You sure are jumpy!”


Embarrassed, Delight sheathed her sword. “My name is Delight. Who are you?”


“I’m Bara,” replied the boy. “And this is Ean, Jillian, and Amia.”


“What are you doing here?” Delight wondered out loud.


“We were told to wait here by the King,” Ean responded.


“Did He tell you what to do?”


“Yes. He told us to wait for one other; then we could head on our way. That other is you,” Amia answered.


“Did he say which way to go?”


“You certainly ask a lot of questions!” Bara laughed.


“Don’t mind him,” commented Jillian.


“The King said to go the Way of Truth,” Ean finally answered.


“But we don’t know which way that is,” Jillian admitted.


An idea flashed in Delight’s mind. “I think I do! Follow me!”


So begun the Journey to the Celestial Gate.


45 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page