top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturedebiandrea743

On My Bookshelf: Part 5


`Here we are… The finale of this series. Part five is going to be different from the others. And this is the reason why: So far, I have shared my favorite books with you. All of them were on my bookshelf, but none of these books are on my bookshelf. As a matter of fact, I haven't even read any of these novels.


Because I haven't read most of these books, I won't share the plot with you. So instead, I'll give some basic information.


We all have books that we want to read. If you're anything like me, you probably have a long, long list. This is only a hundredth of my list. I don't have an idea when I'll have a chance to read these stories. But I'll try to one day.


These are novels that will one day be on my bookshelf.


To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee


Genres: Southern Gothic and Bildunsgrosman


Themes: Good vs. Evil; Racial Prejudice; Courage and Bravery; Justice vs. the Law


Age Group: 12+ (from common sense media)


Why I want to read it: I watched the movie as a little girl, and I fell in love with it… Probably because of actor Gregory Peck and the brilliant job he did depicting Atticus Finch. As a little girl, I had a more challenging time understanding what was really at stake during the trial. But now, I realize everything that was going on.


The Hunger Games Series by Suzanne Collins


Genre: Young Adult and Dystopian Fiction


Themes: The Origins and Effects of War; Class Discrimination and Caste; Resistance


Age Group: 13+ (from pluggedin)


Why I want to read it: Let me just begin by saying I have already completed the first two books, and I have two more to go. I got interested in this book through some friends and also seeing some clips of the movies online. Though this series can be challenging to read at times due to its subject matter (especially the first book), these books are a must-read!


The Tempest by William Shakespeare


Genre: Romance and Tragicomedy


Themes: Illusion vs. Reality; Human Nature; Forgiveness and Reconciliation


Age Group: Unknown


Why I want to read it: I didn't always like Shakespeare, but my love for this man's work grew after reading Hamlet. Until I read Wednesday Wars, I had never even heard of this play. The way the main character described it and messed around with it made me want to read it just to meet all his favorite characters and visit his favorite scenes.


Maze Runner Series by James Dashner


Genre: Dystopian and Science Fiction


Themes: Friendship; Order vs. Chaos; Civilization vs. Savagery; Bravery


Age Group: 12+ (from pluggedin)


Why I want to read it: I love Dystopian. There's something about it that thrills me. Maybe it's just the fact that we, as humans, always tend to fear the future. With most Dystopian novels, the future is pretty bleak. But the series will generally end with hope. Right now, our future doesn't look too bright. But all bad things will pass.


The Adventures of Nicholas Nickleby by Charles Dickens


Genre: Classic and Historical Fiction


Themes: Human costs of the class system


Age Group: Unknown


Why I want to read it: I'm a vast Dicken's fan who has seen most of the movies but has not read all of the books. I enjoyed the film on this movie and was moved to tears several times. Dickens never fails to make you feel and admire. His characters are fresh out of the pot, and he always keeps you at the edge of your seat.


Ranger's Apprentice by John Flanigan


Genre: Fantasy and Adventure


Themes: "The eventual triumph of good over evil" -John Flanigan


Age Group: 10-12+ (From pluggedin)


Why I want to read it: I love fantasy novels. I could read Narnia, Lord of the Rings, and Beowulf for the rest of my life and be happy. Not only that, but a friend of mine used to read this series and highly recommended it. Thus far, I have greatly enjoyed many of the books he has suggested, so I doubt this one will be any different.



Bleak House by Charles Dickens


Genre: Classic and Mystery


Themes: The Importance of Danger and Passion; Law vs. Justice; Haunting and Guilt


Age Group: Unknown


Why I want to read it: As I stated earlier, I'm a huge Dickens fan. I've seen the film based on this novel, and it is phenomenal and fresh. It is rare to find a Dicken's book shrouded by mystery, which is one of the few. Dark, it addresses social injustice and how dangerous it is to want more.


The Wingfeather Saga by Andrew Peterson


Genre: Fantasy and Adventure


Themes: "So this is a story about light and goodness and Truth with a capital T. It's about beauty, and resurrection, and redemption. But for those things to ring true in a child's heart, the storyteller has to be honest. He has to acknowledge that sometimes when the hall light goes out and the bedroom goes dark, the world is a scary place. He has to nod his head to the presence of all the sadness in the world; children know it's there from a very young age, and I wonder sometimes if that's why babies cry. He has to admit that sometimes characters make bad choices because every child has seen their parent angry or irritable or deceitful--even the best people in our lives are capable of evil.


"But of course, the storyteller can't stop there. He has to show in the end there is a Great Good in the world (and beyond it). Sometimes it is necessary to paint the sky black in order to show how beautiful is the prick of light. Gather all the wickedness in the universe into its loudest shriek, and God hears it as a squeak at best. And that is a comforting thought. When a child reads the last sentence of my stories, I hope he or she drifts to sleep with a glow in their hearts and a warmth in their bones, believing that all shall be well, and all shall be well, and all manner of things shall be well." -Andrew Peterson


Age Group: 9+ (pluggedin)


Why I want to read it: It is rare to find a fantasy novel that is Christian in nature. And it is rare to find one that has met with such success. Many of my friends have read through this book series and have such high praise for it that I can't not read it!


Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen


Genre: Drama and Classic


Themes: Expectation vs. Reality; Appearance vs. Reality; Expectation and Disappointment


Age Group: 14+ (common sense media)


Why I want to read it: When I was younger, I thought that the movie based on this novel was the most boring thing I had ever seen. As I grow older now, I think it is probably one of the most brilliant stories composed by Jane Austen. This woman addressed how our expectations may be dashed. She also shows us how we should not judge by the appearance of things.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak


Genre: Historical Fiction


Themes: Death; Mortality; Love


Age Groups: 12+ (pluggedin)


Why I want to read it: It had me at the title. Anything about avid readers catches my attention. But place the story in history, and you have doubled my interest. Make the narrator Death, then I will be finished with the book in a week.


 

There are so many excellent novels out there, and we all have our favorites. Maybe some of the stories I have listed are the best books you have ever read. You might even revolt some of them. In the end, our favorite books reflect who we are as a person. They reflect our attitudes and personalities.


Thank you for taking the time to read this long series. Hopefully, I have inspired you to open up your reading horizons and to read more often.


Reading is an integral part of our lives. The words that fill the pages of novels inspire us to do countless things. Just as Max told the Liesel in The Book Thief, "Words are life."


37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page