top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturedebiandrea743

The Harvest


“Therefore, pray earnestly to the Lord of the harvest to send out laborers into His harvest.” (Matthew 9:38, ESV)

The Ministry – Lighthouse of Holiness & Faro de Santidad

Aside from the work in Matamoros, Mexico, every Thursday, some 20 kids, my family, and several helpers would meet at a small church building. We would split into three groups: teens, pre-teens, and elementary. The helpers would conduct games with one group while my father or Pastor Travis would lead a service with another group. Mom and Mrs. Paula would teach the elementary group. Everything was going great.

Then COVID.

What We’re Doing During COVID

Everything stopped, and for the longest time, we were at a loss of what to do. Then, Dad came up with a great idea! What if we went from house to house, took all the precautions, and handed out Sunday school pamphlets?

Within the first week, most of the youth and kids were turning in their work! I was ecstatic to see the tall pile that followed Dad back within the second week.

My Tryout Week

One week, I decided to go with Dad to be a help in sorting out the pamphlets and to invite teens to my summer Bible study. I had a great time, and I was happy to see the teens and children from church.

I wanted to help Dad out every week after that, but I was unable due to my Bible study. Little did I know that about a month later, I would be helping Dad out fulltime.

VBS Boxes

In July, several helpers that had moved up to Wisconsin came down to visit my family. Deciding to call on the kids together, we put together VBS boxes full of little crafts, snacks, candy, knick-knacks, and a “Book of Romans.” My friends, Tori and Ryan, helped Tabby, and I write out notes for each teen and kid! We had so much fun writing those notes and going house to house.



A Break

About a month ago, Dad had to take a break when he got sick. He had no idea that this break would last up to a month. For days, most of what Dad could do was lie in bed.

But he’s better now! And we just got back to do the packets last week, and I started helping him fulltime.

Prayer Requests

1. I’m going to admit it – I’m an introvert. A lot of the times I go with Dad, I end up hardly having said a word. I would appreciate it if you would pray that God would give me the strength to go beyond my comfort zone.

2. Though Dad is feeling better, he’s still not 100%. Please pray that he would get better to continue with the ministry with the teens/children of Brownsville and on the other side of the border without restraint.

3. I’m sure the teens and kids would really appreciate it if y’all prayed for them. Please pray that God will help them through this tough time.

4. Finally, pray that God’s Word would go forward! Not only in our ministry, but all around the world. Pray that there would be a bountiful harvest!


60 views4 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page