top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturedebiandrea743

To Those of Us Who Can't Vote (And a Little Note to Those of You Who Can)


“When’s the next election?” I asked my Mom, excitedly, at the beginning of this year.

I’m seventeen years old, and since I’m a minor, I can’t vote. I was disappointed to hear that the next election was this year, 2020, five months before my birthday.

Understanding that this is an important election, I wish I could voice my opinion by placing my vote in the ballot box.

But I’ll have to wait four more years for that.

Now, I know for most of us minors who wanted to have a voice today are bummed out. I’ll not kid with you – this is an incredibly important election.

But don’t lose hope. There’s one thing we minors can still do – pray.

Pray for Authority

I’ll admit off the bat that if I could vote, I would vote Republican. This doesn’t mean that I support everything they do because I don’t. I just see them as a better option.

I’ve noticed this year that voting isn’t everything. I can also pray for my party.

But I shouldn’t stop there.

I should also pray for the Democrats. As much as I disagree with them, I should pray for them.

[Pray] for kings and all who are in high positions, that we may lead a peaceful and quiet life, godly and dignified in every way. (1 Timothy 2:2, ESV)

Notice how Timothy doesn’t say pray only for the kings you like or pray only for the good kings. No! Instead, he clearly and unmistakably states that we are to pray for “all who are in high positions!

Pray for the People

Let’s get down to the point – our nation has wandered from its Christian foundation. It’s gotten to the point that information, which is part of our heritage, is taken out of our history books because it’s considered “offensive.”

We must pray for the people of this nation - not only our friends and family but our country as a whole.

I exhort, therefore, that, first of all, supplications, prayers, intercessions, and giving of thanks, be made for all men. (1 Timothy 2:1, ESV)

Pray for all men. All. Don’t just pray for those who fight against abortion. Don’t just pray for those who fight to keep our freedom to practice religion alive. Pray for the rioters. Pray for those who are pro-choice. Pray for those who hate Christians to their very core.

Pray for Revival

When this whole thing with COVID started, two pastors pointed out this verse:

When I shut up the heavens so that there is no rain, or command the locust to devour the land or send pestilence among my people, if my people who are called by my name humble themselves, and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and heal their land. (2 Chronicles 7:13-14, ESV)

Hearing this, my jaw dropped. In the year 2020, our world has been plagued with droughts, locusts, riots, and sickness. I think God is trying to give us a wake-up call. He’s calling us to pray. If only every Christian in this world would lift their voices to Him, I believe we would see a great revival.

To Those of You Who Can Vote

Just a quick note for those of you who can vote: Vote! Think about it. You have an opportunity for your voice to be heard through voting.

Also, consider that by putting pro-life candidates into office through your vote, you can help overturn Supreme Court rulings such as Roe vs. Wade! Wouldn’t it be wonderful if abortion were abolished in our country?

Understand that I am not trying to deemphasize God’s tremendous power. God can work through the Democrats just as much as he can work through the Republicans. He can work through Biden and Trump in the same manner.

Also, don’t think that you don’t have to pray just because you voted. Still, pray! Though I believe voting is critical during an election, I deem prayer to be even more so.

 

As I was watching the presidential debate about two weeks ago, my heart sunk. It was then that I realized that prayer for our country in this hour is not optional but necessary.

I watched our presidential candidates argue back and forth like little kids. Horrified, I realized that we were placing our nation’s fate in the hands of one of these bickering men. I felt let down by the Republican party.

Later, I thought through things. Just because Biden gets into the presidency, or just because Trump gets into office, does not mean that God will stop working in our country.

Both men support different things that I cannot condone, but God will not be hindered because they go into office.

Remember that God can work through anybody in office as you pray. For us minors, don’t be despondent as the election approaches. Instead, pray. Do not hesitate to pray for all the authority and all the people of this mighty land. Cry out to God for there to be revival today.

Comment below! Those of you can and can’t vote, tell me what else you think we can pray for or what else you think we as Christians should do during the elections.

70 views8 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page